Screen Share with View and Control in a Bomgar Connect Session

Start Screen Sharing

From the session window, click the Screen Sharing button to request control of the remote computer. Click the gear button to view options.

Leaving all options unchecked requests full screen sharing, which grants view and control of the remote system's entire desktop and all applications. If you check Full Access, available only in a customer-initiated session, you will request both screen sharing and all other privileges at once. If you check View Only, you may see but not control the remote screen. Privacy Screen, available only when Jumping, starts the session with the remote customer's view and control of the system disabled. Privacy screen is not available when supporting Windows 8 or above.

Once the customer has granted permission, the remote desktop will appear in your window. If you have chosen an option other than View Only, you now have full mouse and keyboard control, enabling you to work on the remote computer as if you were really there. You can request to elevate your permission level at any time during the session.

Run Full Customer Client

In a click-to-chat session, you can only chat with the customer and see basic session information. If you need to provide deeper support, request to elevate the session to the full customer client.

 

Screen Sharing

Screen Sharing Tools

Screen Sharing

Stop screen sharing.

Control

While viewing the remote computer, start or stop control of the remote keyboard and mouse.

Customer Control

If your permissions allow, you can disable the remote user's screen view and mouse and keyboard input. The customer's view of the privacy screen clearly explains that the representative has disabled the customer's view. The customer can regain control at any time by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del.

Alternatively, disable the customer's mouse and keyboard input while still allowing them to view the screen. When input is restricted, an orange border appears around the customer's monitors, and a message indicates that the representative has mouse and keyboard control. The customer can regain control at any time by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del.

This feature is available only for Windows. In Vista and above, the customer client must be elevated. On Windows 8 and above, this feature is limited to disabling the mouse and keyboard.

Annotations

Annotation tools enable you to guide customers through more complex tasks and to train remote employees, reducing the number of call-backs and lowering training costs. A number of tools are available, including shapes and free drawing. Bomgar InSight allows annotations on the a live camera feed from an Android or iOS device. Note that annotations have special requirements for certain mobile platforms. To learn more about Bomgar InSight, please see Bomgar InSight for iOS or Bomgar InSight for Android.

Reboot Remote Computer

Reboot the remote system in either normal or safe mode with networking, or shut down the remote system. You can also request the end user to enter valid credentials so that after a reboot the representative can log back on with the provided credentials without requiring the customer to be present. For further details, see Automatic Log On Credentials: Reboot and Reconnect with Bomgar Connect.

Send Ctrl-Alt-Delete

Send a Ctrl-Alt-Del command to the remote computer.

Start iOS Screen Sharing

Begin iOS device screen sharing. For details, see Supporting Apple iOS Devices. When supporting an Apple OS X 10.10+ system attached to an Apple iOS 8.0.1+ mobile device, click this button to begin or end view-only screen sharing on the attached iOS device. Note that this button is not visible unless you are in a standard screen sharing support session with an Apple OS X Yosemite system, and that the button is not enabled unless an Apple iOS 8.0.1+ device is connected to the OS X Yosemite system being supported.

Capture Screenshot

While screen sharing, capture a screenshot of the remote screen or screens at their full resolution, saved in PNG format. Save the image file to your local system or to your clipboard. The capture action is recorded in the chat log with a link to a locally saved image. The link remains active even after the customer has left the session, but it does not persist in the Bomgar session report. This feature works on Mac, Windows, and Linux.

Select Display

Select an alternate remote monitor to display. The primary monitor is designated by a P.

Scaled View or Actual Size

View the remote screen at actual or scaled size.

Performance and Quality

Select the color optimization mode to view the remote screen. If you are going to be primarily sharing video, select Video Optimized; otherwise select between Black and White (uses less bandwidth), Few Colors, More Colors, or Full Color (uses more bandwidth).

Full Screen

View the remote desktop in full screen mode or return to the interface view. When in full screen mode, special keys are passed through to the remote system. This includes but is not limited to modifier keys, function keys, and the Windows Start key. Note that this does not apply to the Ctrl-Alt-Del command.