Resolving Conflicts

If both appliances in failover take the same role at once (i.e., both primary or both backup), then the Failover Status page shows this error:

NOTE: There is a conflict in the primary and secondary site instances. Both of them are either primary or backup, which is an unexpected situation. “Fix This Error” command will resolve any configuration problems.

 

This can happen when network connectivity is lost between the appliances and one takes on the role of the other. This can also occur automatically if Failover Backup Settings have Enable Automatic Failover enabled.

If both appliances are in the primary role and you know which appliance should be the backup, log into the /login admin web interface of this appliance, go to Management > Failover, and click Become Backup. Similarly, if both appliances are in the backup role and you know which appliance should be the primary, go to Management > Failover and click Become Primary. If you encounter errors during this process, log into the /appliance admin web interface of each appliance, go to Support > Utilities, and use the TCP Connection Test to determine if the appliances can connect over port 443. If not, check the Networking > IP Configuration tab and confirm the settings here are correct.

If you are not sure which appliance should be primary and which should be the backup appliance, you can click the Fix This Error button. Clicking this button automatically determines for you which role each appliance should have based on various criteria such as which appliance has the shared IP enabled or which has the IP to which the primary DNS address resolves. Fix This Error also implements the necessary role changes automatically.

Whether you resolve the error manually or automatically, the appliance which takes the backup role will have its configuration settings in /login overwritten by the primary appliance, with the exception of failover settings. Reports and recording data should be synchronized between both appliances so that all such data on either appliance will be extant on both appliances after synchronization is complete. When in doubt, download a configuration backup from /login using the Download Backup button located in Management > Software Management.