Use Jump Clients to Access Unattended Computers

To access an individual computer without end-user assistance, install a Jump Client on that system either from within a session or from the Jump Clients page of the administrative interface. Your account permissions may disallow you from using Jump Clients, or you may be allowed to Jump but not to deploy the clients yourself. You also may be allowed to pin clients to your personal Jump Group or only to one of your team Jump Groups. You may be disallowed to set passwords, or you may be allowed to access all Jump Clients without needing a password.

Wake-On-Lan (WOL)

Wake-On-Lan (WOL) allows you to remotely turn on or wake up machines configured for WOL from Bomgar. In a configured environment, customers can power off their machine but still receive Bomgar support, if needed.

Note: WOL is not a Bomgar technology. The Bomgar software integrates with existing WOL systems. To use WOL through Bomgar, the system must have WOL enabled, and the network must allow WOL packets to be sent.

To enable support for WOL in Bomgar, turn on the WOL setting in the administrative /login interface under Jump > Jump Clients. When enabling the WOL option, keep the following items in mind:

  • WOL does not work for wireless clients. A wired network connection is required.
  • WOL is supported by the underlying system hardware, which is independent of the installed OS.
  • WOL is supported only by active Jump Clients. Passive Jump Clients, Jumpoints, and Local Jump from representative consoles do not support WOL.

To wake an active Jump Client using WOL, right-click an existing Jump Client from within the rep console. Attempt to wake the system by clicking the Attempt to wake up Jump Client option.

Wake-On-Lan

The wake option is only available when selecting a single Jump Client. It is not available when multiple Jump Clients are selected.

WOL packets are sent from other Jump Clients residing on the same network as the target machine. When an active Jump Client is installed or checks-in, it registers its network information with the appliance, and the appliance uses this information to determine which Jump Clients are on the same network.

Once attempting to wake up a selected Jump Client, the WOL option greys out for 30 seconds before being able to attempt to send another wake up request. If no other Jump Clients are available on that same network to send WOL packets to the target machine, the rep receives a message indicating that no other Jump Clients are availeble on the network. When sending a WOL packet, the rep has an advanced option to provide a password for WOL environments requiring a secure WOL password. A WOL packet is a one-way packet, and no confirmation of success is given to the rep besides seeing the client come online in the rep console.

Jump Client Properties

Jump Client Properties

Organize and manage existing Jump Clients by selecting one or more Jump Clients and clicking Properties.

Change a Jump Client's mode from the Connection Type dropdown. Active Jump Clients send statistics to the Bomgar Appliance on a defined interval. Passive Jump Clients send statistics to the Bomgar Appliance once a day or upon a manual check in. Based on the options your administrator sets, these statistics may include the remote computer’s logged-in console user, operating system, uptime, CPU, disk usage, and a screen shot from the last update.

Once a Jump Client has a password set, its icon will show that it is locked, and its screen shot will also be locked. In order to Jump to a locked Jump Client, you must provide its password. Also, you must provide the password to remove a locked Jump Client via the Jump Client interface; you do not need the password to unpin from within a session, as you would already have provided the password to Jump into the session.

If Starts Quietly is checked, the customer client will not take focus and will remain minimized in the taskbar or dock when a session is started.

Move Jump Clients from one Jump Group to another using the Jump Group dropdown. The ability to move Jump Clients to or from different Jump Groups depends upon your account permissions.

Note: Multiple support teams and embassies may be able to access Jump Clients pinned to one Jump Group, depending on rules set by your Bomgar software administrator.

Further organize Jump Clients by entering the name of a new or existing Tag. While the selected Jump Clients will be grouped together under the tag, they will still be listed under the Jump Group where each is pinned. To move a Jump Client back into its top-level Jump Group, leave this field blank.

Select the Public Portal through which this Jump Client should connect. If a session policy is assigned to this public portal, that policy may affect the permissions allowed in sessions started through this Jump Client. The ability to set the public portal depends on your account permissions.

Jump Clients include a Comments field for a name or description, which makes sorting, searching, and identifying Jump Clients faster and easier.

To set when users are allowed to access this Jump Client, choose a Jump Policy. These policies are configured by your administrator in the /login interface.

Choose session policies to assign to this Jump Client. Session policies assigned to this Jump Client have the highest priority when setting session permissions. The Customer Present Session Policy applies when the end user is determined to be present. Otherwise, the Customer Not Present Session Policy applies. Customer presence is detected when the Jump Client session starts. The session policy used for the session does not change throughout the session, regardless of any changes in the customer's presence while the session is in progress. The ability to set a session policy depends on your account permissions.

New Jump Client Properties

When pinning a Jump Client from within a session and customizing its properties beforehand, you also have the option to set when the Jump Client expires. This can be never, at a specific time and date, or after a certain length of time. An expired Jump Client automatically uninstalls from the remote system and is removed from the list in the Jump Client interface.

 

If you no longer need access to a remote system, select the Jump Client and click the Remove button, or right-click on the Jump Client and select Remove from the menu. You may select multiple Jump Clients to remove them all at the same time.

Note: If the remote user manually uninstalls a Jump Client, it will remain in your queue, along with the statistics from its last update, but you will not be able to access that computer. If a Jump Client goes offline and does not connect back to the Bomgar Appliance for 180 days, it will automatically be uninstalled from the target computer and will be removed from the Jump interface.

Active and Passive Jump Clients
Active Jump Client Passive Jump Client

Maintains a persistent connection to the Bomgar Appliance.

Listens for a remote access request from the Bomgar Appliance.

Note: Some firewall configuration may be required.

Sends statistics to the Bomgar Appliance at regular intervals.

Sends statistics to the Bomgar Appliance once a day, upon manual check-in, or when a new user logs in (if this feature is enabled).

Enables remote access to any desktop operating system supported by Bomgar.

Enables remote access to any desktop operating system supported by Bomgar.

Number of installable clients is limited by your Bomgar Appliance model.

B200 B300 B400
Up to 1,000 Active Jump Clients Up to 10,000 Active Jump Clients Up to 25,000 Active Jump Clients

Bomgar Cloud supports up to 150 Active Jump Clients per license.

50,000 passive Jump Clients supported on all Bomgar Appliance models. Passive Jump Clients are not supported on Bomgar Cloud deployments.

If you need more passive Jump Clients, visit www.bomgar.com/help.

Note: The maximum number of Jump Clients available to a Virtual Appliance is based on allocated resources. See the Virtual Appliance Sizing Guidelines at www.bomgar.com/docs.

Pin a Jump Client from the Rep Console

Pin Jump Client icon

Persistent Pinned Android Session