Compliance: Anonymize Data to Meet Compliance Standards

The Remote Support /login navigation header highlighting the Compliance tab.

Important

By default, the Compliance tab is disabled. If your organization requires this functionality, please contact Bomgar Support at https://help.bomgar.com.

Anonymization :: Representative

Information about representatives as well as the actions performed during support sessions can be made anonymous to meet privacy regulations and compliance standards.

To anonymize data, select the representative's username, display name, and/or email address from the field. Then click Search Representative Activity. If data is found, the system returns a list of the information found for the representative along with a randomly-generated, proposed replacement term for the information. The proposed term is clickable, allowing the Edit Replacement prompt to appear. Within the prompt, the data can be made anonymous by entering a preferred replacement term for the data. When finished, click Edit Replacement Term in All History to replace the term in the section.

The list updates with the new replacement term and displays, "All support sessions, presentation sessions, and team/embassy activity events for this representative will be marked as anonymized at: (date and time)." After reviewing the replacement terms and timestamp, click Delete User and Anonymize to begin the anonymizing process for the entire software. Before starting the anonymization process, you must enter your display name.

Important

All session recordings are deleted as a part of the anonymization request.

Anonymization :: Customer

Information about customers receiving support as well as the actions performed during support sessions can be made anonymous to meet privacy regulations and compliance standards.

To anonymize data, enter the customer's name, computer name, and/or IP address into the field. Select the Partial match checkbox if partial matches should be listed. Then click Search Customer Activity. If data is found, the system returns a list of the information found for the customer along with a randomly-generated, proposed replacement term for the information. The proposed term is clickable, allowing the Edit Replacement prompt to appear. Within the prompt, the data can be made anonymous by entering a preferred replacement term for the data. When finished, Edit Replacement Term in All History is clicked to replace the term in the section.

The list updates with the new replacement term and displays, "All support sessions and presentation session activity events for this customer will be marked as anonymized at: (date and time)." After reviewing the replacement terms and timestamp, click Delete User and Anonymize to begin the anonymizing process for the entire software. Before starting the anonymization process, you must enter your display name.

You can also choose to Add Custom. This allows you to enter and to search for customized information, such as account numbers.

Important

All session recordings are deleted as a part of the anonymization request.

Anonymization :: Status

Review information about anonymization jobs, including, found terms, replacement terms, the type of data being anonymized, and the status of the job.

The job status is automatically refreshed every 15 seconds, and the status for completed requests remains available for 24 hours.

Note: This status information is also available in the Support Session Detail and Presentation Detail reports.

Note: For environments where failover or Atlas is configured, the anonymization of data is not complete until synchronization across all nodes or backup appliances has occurred.