Toolset

Support Session Overview and Tools

Support Session Overview

Session Tools

 

Pin Chat Window

Click the icon at the top left of the chat pane to pin or un-pin the sliding chat window. If the window is un-pinned, hover over the hidden window to reveal it.

Elevate

Elevate

Elevate a click-to-chat session to the full customer client, or elevate the customer client to have administrative rights. To elevate to administrative rights, administrative credentials must be provided by you or the customer.

Elevating the customer client enables switching user accounts, deploying Jump Clients in service mode, and controlling protected windows and UAC dialog boxes. Elevation does not change the user context of the active user and is not the same as logging out the active user and logging back in as an administrator.

Elevation to admin rights is currently available only for Windows and Mac computers. Administrators can set the customer client to automatically request elevation at session initiation on Windows systems.

 

Transfer

Should you decide someone else is better suited to handle a session, transfer control of that session to another team or representative. Remain as a participant or close your tab to leave the session with its new owner. Once you have transferred the session to a new owner, your Transfer, Invite, and Remove icons become gray, and you will no longer be able to perform these actions, as you are no longer the session owner. The session will persist until the new owner of the session closes the session.

 

Invite

Invite another representative to participate in a shared session. You maintain ownership of the session but can receive input from one or more teammates or an external representative. You can also request an access sponsor to perform certain actions on your behalf.

 

Remove

The session owner can remove another representative from a shared session. Additionally, you can disconnect the customer but remain in the session tab to add notes or review the last captured system information.

Bomgar Button

Bomgar Button

If permitted, install a Bomgar Button on the remote desktop or BlackBerry or remove a previously installed Bomgar Button. The customer can click the Bomgar Button to start a support session quickly and easily.

Jump Client

Jump Client

If permitted, install a Jump Client on the remote computer, enabling you or your teammates to access that system later without end-user initiation. Uninstall the client if you no longer need unattended access to that system. Currently, Jump Clients cannot be installed on mobile devices. To set details, including password, comments, group, and so forth, select Customize.

 

Custom Link

Open a web browser on your computer to a site defined by your administrator. This button can be configured to include the session's external key in the URLIf, for instance, the external key matches the unique identifier of a case in your customer relationship management system, clicking this button could pull up the associated case in the external system.

 

Leave Session

Close your session tab entirely. If you have ownership of the session, you can either uninstall the customer client from the remote machine or leave the customer in queue for another representative to resume the session.

To detach a session window from the representative console, drag the tab away or right-click the tab and select Detach. To reattach a separate window as a tab, click the close window button.

By right-clicking the session tab, you also can rename the session or can revert the name to the default.

At the bottom right of the session window is information about the remote system along with any other information the customer may have provided in the issue submission form. Also, if your administrator has enabled the XML API, you may designate an external key for use in session reports. Any custom session attributes enabled by your administrator will appear in a Custom Info tab. Click Copy to copy all information to your clipboard.

Another option that your administrator may choose to enable is the ability to log out the Windows user automatically or lock the remote computer when the session closes. When you have been working on an unattended system, for example, locking the computer is recommended to prevent unauthorized users from viewing private information. Set the action to take from the dropdown at the bottom of the pane.