File Transfer to and from the Remote System

During a session, privileged representatives can transfer, delete or rename files and even entire directories both to and from the remote computer, or from the remote device and to or from the device SD card. You do not have to have full control of the customer’s computer in order to transfer files.

Depending upon the permissions your administrator has set for your account, you may be allowed only to upload files to the remote system or to download files to your local computer. File system access may also be restricted to certain paths on the remote or local system, thereby enforcing that uploads or downloads occur only in certain directories.

Transfer files by using the upload and download buttons or by dragging and dropping files. Right clicking on a file brings up a context sensitive menu from where you can, among other things, create a new directory; rename, open, or delete the file; or download it directly to your machine.

File Transfer

File Transfer Tools

 

End Remote File Access

Stop access to the remote device’s file system when it is no longer needed.

 

Go Up a Directory

Go up a directory in the selected file system.

 

Refresh

Refresh your view of the selected file system.

 

Create Folder

Create a new directory.

 

Rename File

Rename a directory or file.

 

Delete File

Delete a directory or file. Note that deleting a file or folder permanently deletes it. It is not sent to the recycle bin.

 

Show Hidden Files

Show hidden files.

Transfer Files from Remote Computer

Transfer Files to Remote Computer

Select one or more files or directories and then click the appropriate button to upload the files to the remote system or download to your local system. You can also drag and drop files to transfer.

 

Overwrite Remote Files

If a file of the same name already exists in the location to which you are attempting to transfer a file, choose whether to respond by automatically overwriting the existing file, canceling the transfer, or prompting for each file of identical name. Note that if the content of the files is identical, the upload will be skipped and will result in a warning message.

 

Preserve File Stamp

Preserving file information will keep the file’s original timestamp. If this option is disabled, the file’s timestamp will reflect the date and time when it was transferred.

 

Autostart File Transfer

If automatic file transfer is enabled, transfers will begin as soon as the upload or download button is clicked or a file is dragged from one file system to the other.

 

Start Manual File Transfer

If automatic file transfer is not enabled, select from the transfer manager the files you wish to transfer and then click the Start button to begin the transfer.

 

File Transer Details

From the transfer manager, select a file and then click the Details button to view information such as the date and time of the transfer, the origin and destination of the files, and the number of bytes transferred.

 

Cancel File Transfer

Select one or more files from the transfer manager and then click Cancel to stop the transfer from completing.

 

Clear File Transfer Info

Clear all information from the transfer manager.