Version: 15.1 | 14.2/14.3

Customer Notices: Create Messages for the Customer Notification System

Public Portals > Customer Notices

Customer Notices

Notify customers, as they are requesting support, of broadly impacting IT outages to avoid flooding your Bomgar representatives. These messages can be set to expire at a pre-determined time and applied to one or more public portals.

Once created, customer notices can be displayed either in the public portal, so that customers get the information they need before even attempting to initiate a session, or in the customer client chat window, so they appear at the beginning of a session.

Administrators and authorized representatives can create up to 10 messages per portal, with each message allowed up to 1,020 characters.

Although messages are not configurable per language, you can create different messages for the languages supported on the same portal.

Administrators can create and edit customer notices and also can grant this right to representatives without administrative privileges.

Add New Customer Notice, Edit, Delete

Create a new object, modify an existing object, or remove an existing object.

Send

Push a customer notice to the customer client chat window even when a session is already in progress.

Add or Edit Customer Notice

Name

Create a unique name to help identify this object. This name is not displayed to the customer. Although HTML tags are not allowed, you can use BBCode to do some low level formatting, such as adding bold, colors or hyperlinks. Clicking on Supported BBCode Formatting displays a list of codes and their resulting applications.

Notice Text

Create the text that will display in the customer chat or on the public portal. Although HTML tags are not allowed, you can use BBCode to do some low level formatting, such as adding bold, colors or hyperlinks. Clicking on Supported BBCode Formatting displays a list of codes and their resulting applications.

Note: Messages should be relatively short so they can be viewed without much scrolling in the customer client windows. This applies to both the native client and click-to-chat modes.

Expires On

Enter a date for the notice expiration. If you select Never Expires the notice will remain on your site until it is manually deleted. Expired notices are automatically deleted 24 hours after their expiration date.

Public Sites

If you have more than one public site, select which ones will display the notice. You can select multiple portals.